About Me

At time of writing (later 2021), I am a heterosexual male in my late forties. I am in good health, financially secure, (still, and thankfully) happily married. My wife and I have otherwise never married before. We have two kids, an 11-year-old boy, and a 7-year-old girl. Both are in good health and have no major major problems.

My childhood was comfortable by any standards. I never knew a day of hunger, nor even the threat of it. Running out of money was never a stress that reached me at that age (as in, even when there were financial stressors, my parents kept them from me). I had friends in school and church, was fairly popular, suffered no serious sustained bullying, abuse, or trauma.

I went to a good school and did well. I went to university and did well. I got a good job in healthcare and did well until things haywire because of my addiction. But until then, things seemed absolutely fine.

I write all for two reasons:

Firstly, in gratitude that I have been blessed so much from the start, despite my failings. (And I still am, despite continued failings)

Secondly, and more importantly, to set the context for anything you read here.

As it is almost entirely from my sheltered perspective, much of what I hope to share will be limited to my personal experiences, and skewed by my lack of experiences e.g. bullying, abuse, trauma, broken families… which many others have gone through and are still going through.

If anything I say here seems insensitive and idealistic, please forgive me – no offence is ever meant. Take what you like and leave the rest. As with the rest of this blog, constructive feedback is always welcome regarding this. But do bear in mind what I say is only my own opinion and in the context of my own experiences. Nothing more authoritative than that.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started